Nail the week: expanding the half moon- peacock nails!

The mani and the inspiration behind it!

Hello all, massive apologies for the lack of posting of late, it’s been a hectic couple of weeks. Today I thought I’d share with you a mani design  inspired by some peacock feathers which I keep next to my desk. Peacocks are one of my favourite animals so I love this design, and like a lot of my manicures, it looks quite complicated but is actually really easy to create and, best of all, it can be worn on long or short nails.

To create this look I started with a base coat and a coat of gold polish. I could have used my Barry M Gold Foil Effect for this, but I thought that the peacock design warranted something a little more sheer and whimsical, so I opted for my MaxFactor Mini Effect in Ivory (which isn’t Ivory at all, it’s a shimmery gold, but never mind). I then used the hole enforcer technique as described in my Silver and Satsuma post here to leave a gold half moon with a sea green nail. To complete the peacock colour palette and mirror the eye effect of the feather, I used the same technique to add a royal blue curved tip to the nails. I found the hole enforcers slightly too narrow for this step,  so I used small circular white labels instead. I really love the finished look of these nails and definitely plan to use the technique again soon, possibly with yellow, orange and red for a sunset effect or white, grey and black for a monochrome style. I’d love to see your take on this design, so please feel free to share it with me in the comments below! Bye for now.

Materials used:

Sally Hansen Diamond Strength Base Coat

MaxFactor Mini Effect in Ivory

Nails Inc in Symons Street

Barry M Nail Paint in Navy

Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat

Hole Re-inforcers and small circular labels, from W H Smith

Leave a Reply

