Interview Chic: how to land that job and stay individual!

We’ve all been there: you have to look smart for an interview but want to stay stylish and let your uniqueness shine. The question is, how do you strike a balance between the two? As it happens, I found myself in exactly this predicament recently, so I thought I’d share with you how I coped with this age-old conundrum.

My complete interview look

My complete interview look

As you can see, I didn’t stray too far from the time-honoured skirt suit. I teamed a classic black blazer with a patterned midi pencil skirt and a sheer cream blouse with a basic vest underneath. I felt that the midi length was perfect for an interview, and it’s always a good idea to wear layers, e.g. a jacket which you can remove, in case you get given hands-on tasks or assignments during the process. The off-white colours in the skirt tied in nicely with the cream blouse and I brought the overall look up-to-date with a statement (but not too dramatic) necklace and the collarless detail on the blazer, which I thought was really unusual and individual.

A closer look at the outfit’s detailing

In terms of accessories, for job interviews one has to be practical. This means a bag big enough to carry any documents you might need (CV, qualification certifcates, ID, etc), as well as essentials like a bottle of water which never go amiss in more nerve-wracking situations. This one has several useful pockets and compartments, so there was no embarrassing fumbling in the bag during the interview. I am a firm believer that a heel gives you that added confidence boost in an interview, but obviously you don’t want to be tottering around the office or worse, risk tripping up in front of the panel! That’s why I plumped for these chunky mid heel cut-out boots, which are a funky cross between a court shoe (or pump, if you’re in the U.S.) and an ankle boot. These shoes would be perfect to wear in all but the harshest of weather conditions, so I suspect they’ll become a regular feature of my work wardrobe!

Shoes and bags can make or break an outfit!

Shoes and bags can make or break an outfit!

Here’s where I grabbed my interview outfit:

Collarless Blazer, £34.99; Aztec Print Midi Skirt £14.99; Sheer Shirt, £16.99 and Cut-Out Boots, £24.99, all New Look

(I was lucky enough to be able to source almost my entire outfit from one store, which left plenty of time for coffee and gossiping with my shopping buddy. I only had to pop elsewhere for the basic vest and the super stylish and businesslike tote bag!)

Basic White Vest, £3.99, H&M

Large Black Tote Bag, £45, TopShop

Obviously, you don’t need to stick to my rules of interview style, maybe you’re more into statement earrings or prefer to leave the clothes classic and let your shoes do the talking. Whatever your preference, I hope that this post has managed to show that work style does not have to mean boring clothes; if anything, it can add a whole new unique dimension to your closet repertoire!

Oh, and did I land the job? I’m pleased to tell you that yes, I did! 🙂

Leave a Reply

