Nail the Week: Sparkle ‘n’ Shine!

We all want to embark on the week’s journey feeling great, and one sure-fire of achieving this is with a dazzling manicure! This is what my newest section, Nail the Week, is all about- giving you tips and inspiration for starting the week on a sassy, stylish and creative high!

This week’s mani à la mode is a chic mix of lilac sheen and chunky gold glitter. Unlike a lot of styles, this combination can be worn all year round, and it’s so easy to create. To achieve this look, I painted a single layer of Barry M’s Lilac Foil Effect over a strengthening base coat (I use Sally Hansen Double Duty Base and Top Coat). For the accent nail, I swiped on layers of Yellow Topaz Glitter, also by Barry M, starting lightly in the middle of the nail and loading more onto the nail tip. You could do this on one or two nails or all of them for a more dramatic look. I finished with another layer of Double Duty to prevent chipping and give the design a polished look. If you can’t get hold of the colours mentioned, you can try any other lilac polish (I also love Rimmel’s Lasting Finish in Lively Lilac) or a completely different colour of your choice. For a subtler glitter effect, try a finer glitter, such as Barry M’s Gold Glitter, or for a high-glamour evening look you could opt for a darker purple and coloured glitter- for my next night out I think I’ll try out Rimmel’s 60 Seconds in Pompous with a topping of Barry M’s Jewel Glitter Paint in Amethyst (in case you haven’t guessed by now, I’m a big Barry M fan!), but you could pick the perfect shades to compliment your glad rags or let your imagination run wild! Either way, I’d love to see how you’ve worked this look so please share you Sparkle ‘n’ Shine creations with me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

